Friday, September 26, 2008

I Hate Myself


I Hate Myself was an emo band from Gainesville, Florida founded by brothers Jim and Jon Marburger that was active in the late 90's (1997-2000). They were a bit of an anomaly within the scene that they actually helped cultivate - their lyrics actually seem satirical, or "emo" to the point of melodrama. For example, it's hard to believe they're serious when they shriek "com-a-homay-ha" (sorry i don't speak dragonball, that spelling might be a little shaky) on "This Isn't the Tenka-ichi-Budokai", or when Marburger shouts, "I'm going nowhere, I'd rather go somewhere instead/I'm gonna blow a hole, through the back of my head." on "...And Keep Reaching for Those Stars". Regardless of conviction, I Hate Myself's quiet/loud dynamics have left a lasting impression on the genre and their music still sounds fresh today. They reunited for two shows in 2003 and in 2005 put out a one-sided LP under the I Hate Myself moniker with Jon Marburger overdubbing bass in lieu of the lack of a bassist. The brothers currently play in Die Hoffnung as a two piece. Below is their entire discography plus a live bootleg I found somewhere in the bowels of the internet. That bootleg includes a live version of "Darren's Roof" - the bootleg claims it was live on WNYU. I've seen it elsewhere described as part of an ABC No Rio Benefit. They're the exact same recording, so I'm guessing they played it live on WNYU as a part of an ABC No Rio benefit, but I could be wrong. "10 Songs" actually has 11 tracks because the re-release includes I Hate Myself's contribution to the Strikeforce Diablo split 7".

* * *

4 Songs

4 Songs one-sided LP (1997)

I Hate Myself/Twelve Hour Turn Split

I Hate Myself/Twelve Hour Turn Split LP (1998)

2 Songs

2 Songs 7" (2000)

10 Songs

10 Songs CD Edition (2000)

3 Songs

3 Songs one-sided LP (2005)

Live in Tampa 1997 Bootleg

No comments: